Underclass Awards Ceremony 2014

June 5, 2014

On Sunday we celebrated our underclassmen and their accomplishments over the course of the 2013-2014 academic year.

It has been a great year for all of our students and the evening was a tribute to their hard work and impact on the Gould community.

Also in the mix were a few awards paying tribute to some of our dedicated faculty.

Below are photos of the evening and our award winners. Congratulations to all!



Amelia Laguia Garcia

Marta Mateus López



English: Kimberly L. Drew, Chase M. Harkins, Pratt M. Olson

History: Marcus A. Wentworth, Chase M. Harkins, Pratt M. Olson

Mathematics: Matthew C. Bennett, Demetrios S. Maxim, Xiaolu Qian                      

French: Alexandra K. Leff  

Spanish: John W. Kannegieser  

Mandarin: Matthew C. Bennett  

Academic Skills: Joseph S. Sherer V     

Music (Vocal): Paige H. Conroy    

Music (Instrumental): Masakazu Yasumoto    

Theatre: Bradford H. Marlon

Art: Qingqing Cai, Leela J. Hornbach, Ronglin Na

Science: Noah A. Carrier, Demetrios S. Maxim, Ronglin Na



Inductees to the National French Honor Society: Johannes Godfrey, Alexandra Leff, Schuyler Leff, Jackson Marshall, Pratt Olson, Max Southam, Alexa Stewart, and Lan Truong

Inductees to the National Spanish Honor Society: John Canning, Aiden Clarke, Will Cole, Sky Fournier, Rose Goldberg, Will Kannegieser, Alec Manning, Delaney Pals, and Hannah Runyon


RENSSELAER AWARD – Recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding students of science and mathematics.  It is awarded in some 1,000 selected secondary schools in the country to the Junior with the highest combined average in science and mathematics – Xiaolu Qian


BAUSCH AND LOMB SCIENCE AWARD — Awarded to a top member of the Junior Class “in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science.” – John W. Kannegieser


DARTMOUTH ALUMNI CLUB BOOK AWARD — Given to an outstanding member of the Junior Class who ranks in the top ten percent of the class; demonstrates strong character; has made a positive contribution to the school community; and is a candidate for admission to a competitive college or university.  The recipient of the Dartmouth Alumni Club Book Award is Xiaolu Qian


ST. LAWRENCE UNIVERSITY BOOK AWARD — In recognition of the value that the St. Lawrence Community places on service to others, this awards is in recognition of the achievements of high school juniors who have displayed a significant commitment to community service.  The St. Lawrence University Book Award is presented to Natalie G. Hereford


COLLEGE OF THE ATLANTIC BOOK AWARD — This student meets the College of the Atlantic’s ideal of a community-minded citizen who is a passionate steward of change in our social, economic, and environmental systems, and who, perhaps, seems to intuitively grasp the interconnections between these three ways of understanding the world.  The book is awarded to Rachael L. Goldberg


SMITH COLLEGE BOOK AWARD – The Smith College Club of Maine wishes to recognize the achievements of students at our school by presenting the Smith Book Award to an outstanding female junior who exemplifies the academic achievement, leadership qualities, and concern for others that characterize the thousands of women who have graduated from Smith College – Pratt M. Olson


ST. MICHAELS COLLEGE BOOK AWARD – The Saint Michael’s College Award for Scholarship and Service recognizes outstanding students who demonstrate a commitment to volunteerism and leadership in their community service and endeavors.  The College’s founders had a special commitment to serving others as an extension of their Catholic faith.  Today, the Book Award represents just one way in which Saint Michael’s fulfills its mission to better the human condition by honoring those who demonstrate the true spirit of volunteerism – Skye M. Fournier & Evan A. Landon


CLARKSON UNIVERSITY — Awarded by Clarkson University and given in recognition of outstanding leadership qualities and academic promise.  The award goes to Aidan P. Clarke (Leadership) & Melissa S. Seib (Achievement)


PHI BETA KAPPA — Awarded by the Board of the Association this certificate honors  John W. Kannegieser for having demonstrated adherence to high academic standards in a broad range of studies in secondary school and intellectual curiosity and achievement both in and beyond the classroom.


WILLIAM P. CLOUGH III AWARD – William P. Clough III was the Headmaster of Gould Academy from 1983-2001.  This award was created upon his retirement to recognize an on snow athlete who has demonstrated outstanding character, attitude, and leadership.  The recipient of the award this year is Robert P. Warren III


DEXTER M. STOWELL ’46 FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AWARD — The Dexter M. Stowell Faculty Development Fund was established in October 2008 in honor of Dexter M. Stowell Valedictorian of the Class of 1946, by his wife, family, friends, professional colleagues and fraternity brothers, in support of professional development opportunities for classroom teachers at Gould Academy.  I am excited to announce that this year it is awarded to Doug Alford for his high academic and personal standards that engender respect from students and encourage them to succeed.


PHILIP C. RAU ’86 FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AWARD — The Philip C. Rau Teacher Development Fund was established in June 1999 in honor of Philip C. Rau Class of 1986, by his family and friends, in support of professional development opportunities for classroom teachers at Gould Academy.  This year I am happy to announce it is awarded to Colin Penley for your dedication, hard work, and creative approach to instruction, with a love for guiding teenagers.


B. LOWELL KRONOWITZ ’81 FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AWARDThe Kronowitz Faculty Development Fund was established in August 1999, by B. Lowell Kronowitz, Class of 1981, in support of professional and personal development activities of Gould Academy faculty members that include but are not limited to academic course work, individualized research, summer travel, and non-traditional experiential pursuits.  This year I’m proud to announce it is awarded to Becky Andreozzi for your passion, service, and unfailing commitment to the field of education.


CAROLYN S. WOLLEN AWARD — An award created by Headmaster Emeritus and Mrs. William P. Clough III in honor of Trustee Emerita Carolyn S. Wollen.  Carolyn served on the Board of Trustees at Gould Academy from May 1985-May, 2007.  This award honors a Gould Academy sophomore girl who reveals leadership potential through personal example and engages fully in school life. Carolyn Wollen personified these qualities as a Gould Academy Trustee.  The recipient of this award is Alexandra T. Parker


EDMOND J. VACHON AWARD – An award created by Gould Academy in honor of Headmaster Emeritus Edmond J. Vachon.  Mr. Vachon joined the Gould faculty in September, 1940, became Senior Master in 1941, Associate Headmaster in 1954, and Headmaster in 1959.  He also served on the Gould Board of Trustees from 1961 until his retirement as Headmaster in June of 1967.  The award is given to that member of the Junior Class who exemplifies outstanding contribution to the school and achievement in the community – Rachael L. Goldberg


Leave a Reply